CodeLobster IDE
http://codelobster.com/forum/

Code Format Rule: Avoid new line for standard Punctuation
http://codelobster.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=8590
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Apira Prima [ Mon Jan 25, 2016 2:06 pm ]
Post subject:  Code Format Rule: Avoid new line for standard Punctuation

Hi there^^, my first question...

Problem: When using code formatting [Tools > Code format > Format], typical in-sentence punctuations after </tags> are moved to a new line, creating an empty space.

---
Example: "... this is an <strong>example</strong>: ..."

After formatting the html looks like this (which is obviously the good reason for auto-format):
"... this is an <strong>
example
</strong>: ..."

And on the page it looks like: "... this is an example : ..."
So I have to manualy remove all the linebreaks to avoid the empty spaces (between 'example' and ':')

---
Can anyone think of a really clever exception-rule to avoid this - at least inside <p></p>?
Or maybe a nice [Replace] formulation that can be used on selected paragraphs to remove linebreaks?
If I use regular expressions (\n) for this, everything is messed up, because the breaks are gone, but the tab-stops persist... same result with additionally crippled code.

Thanks,
Chris

Author:  Apira Prima [ Mon Jan 25, 2016 3:04 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Code Format Rule: Avoid new line for standard Punctuatio

Sorry for the stupid question... found the obvious answer myself: Run [Replace] several times

0) Select a paragraph.
1) Remove linebreaks: Replace "\n" with nothing, keep the paragraph selected.
2) Delete tabstops: Replace "\t" with nothing.

I leave this post here for other newbies like me :-)

Chris

Attachments:
Remove linebreaks, then tabstops.jpg
Remove linebreaks, then tabstops.jpg [ 39.47 KiB | Viewed 18385 times ]

Author:  kpwoxel [ Mon Dec 25, 2017 3:31 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Code Format Rule: Avoid new line for standard Punctuatio

I also have this "problem".
It is very disappointing, that you have to go through your whole html texts to repair all missformated lines.
like " ... band name is <strong>Slayer</strong>."
So you have to find all this positions to remove the line break to avoid that extra space between "Slayer" and the "."
And if you or a colleague starts autoformat again, you have to to the whole work again!!!

May the CodeLobster Team could find and implement a suitable solution for that!.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/